High Risk and Low Reward: Why the PSEI/FMETF might not be a good investment

brettholmesfan

Before I begin my sharing, please take note that I am not a financial advisor and this is a very simple analysis, I invite everyone to share their thoughts and critique this post.

Hi everyone, we are commonly told that if you buy and hold the PSEI or even just local blue-chip companies, you are diversified and primed for steady growth throughout the years. Recently I have started to think that this logic might not apply in the Philippine context because of the small size of the PSEI. It seems that the S&P is both less risky and has higher growth potential than the PSEI.

I have been investing in the PSE for more than 10 years now. Throughout the years I have been buying and holding mostly blue-chip stocks (SM, Ayala, DMCI etc.) and 10 years later I am a bit disappointed with the returns. Comparing prices now to prices 10 years ago, there is a definite gain for some stocks in my portfolio but not all, resulting in mediocre growth overall.

S&P500 vs PSEI

Out of frustration, I compared the PSEI to the S&P 500 as a “what if” scenario and was surprised at the results. For this I looked at the S&P 500 ETF (SPY) and the iShares MSCI Philippines ETF (EPHE)

Note: EPHE is not exactly the PSEI or FMETF but is mostly the same. For this discussion I will assume that the PSEI and EPHE are equivalent to each other. You can see the holdings of EPHE vs FMETF/PSEI here:

EPHE

FMETF/PSEI

Now, in comparing the S&P 500 to the PSEI I used Portfolio Visualizer to look at the past ten years. Please see this link:

Portfolio Visualizer

Please take note that a longer time horizon will lead to better conclusions. It would be interesting to compare the PSEI and S&P especially from 2008 onwards because the PSEI was not that affected by the global financial crisis. Sadly I could not find a website that goes further than 2011 so please let me know in the comments if you find any.