How much more tax will I pay on dividends for US stocks as an Irish tax resident?

mdwhite

I'm a Canadian citizen living in Ireland. I'm an Irish tax resident.

I bought some US-based stocks on Degiro and eToro. e.g. Apple, Microsoft, Coca-cola.

Ireland has a double taxation treaty with the US: https://www.revenue.ie/en/tax-profe...ble-taxation-treaties/@seekerofgrace-1997.pdf

I can see on my Degiro account that I am being charged 15% as per the taxation treaty. I'm assuming that the online brokerages pay the US government for me, as I have filled out a W-8BEN form.

I know that I need to fill out a Form 12 to fulfil my Irish tax obligations: https://www.revenue.ie/en/additional-incomes/dividend-income/index.aspx

I am in the highest tax band for income. e.g. My income rolls over into the 40% band.

Example:

Microsoft Dividend: $2.48/ year
  • - 15% US tax treaty withholding tax = $2.11
How much more tax will be taken off by the Irish government?

@mdwhite Have you brought the dividend income into Ireland? Assuming you’re domiciled in Canada you should only be subject to Irish tax on investment income that is remitted into Ireland (you may be subject to tax in Canada though).

@njehia THIS!

if you are not domiciled in Ireland you only have to pay taxes on gains remitted to Ireland. If you sell stock in DeGiro and cash it to a Canadian account, you are not subject to Irish CGT or tax on dividends.

@mdwhite Domicile is different than resident or tax resident.

You are only domiciled in Ireland mostly if you were born there, or if you have lived there for a long time and requested to be domiciled there (and even in that case, it's hard). This is true even if you acquire the Irish Citizenship.

From the Revenue dept: "Everyone has a ‘domicile of origin’ at birth (usually the domicile of the father). You keep your domicile of origin unless you choose to gain a new domicile". Source.