Where should I store my emergency fund? (F/21/International Student)

pwife2015

Hi, I’m an international student in Malaysia with 4,600 RM in my savings, that I saved as emergency fund. It’s sitting in a Maybank Goal Savings Plan in my Maybank account. The current interest rate is 0.20% p.a.

I’m only 21 and I can’t help but feel that I should be putting this money into a place where it can grow more.

Looking for the following options:
  • higher interest savings account
  • maybe an investing app but with low withdrawal fees so i can easily access the funds as well
  • i’m also not opposed in investing it in crypto, buying some BTC or ETH and placing it in BlockFi or Gemini (though, i’m not sure if these apps have withdrawal fees)
(I have tried Stashaway and GoTrade)

what are your thoughts on this? should i be saving this much? or put some in investments?

@pwife2015 putting it in stocks/etf/mutual fund/crypto etc will fluctuate your savings. If this money is truly emergency it should be in a safe place where your place will not fluctuate, so savings account is the way to go here. Emergency and Investing money should always be separate.

@pwife2015 I'd say if it's an emergency fund it should be liquid and stable.

For now, versa or fixed deposit or touch n go go+ (usually it's about 1.4% currently it's 5% interest till Jan) or ocbc frank would be good choices. All of these are rather safe options and provide better returns than bank whilst still providing the ability to liquidate easily.

I would avoid putting emergency funds into stashaway simple(takes about a week to withdraw) stocks, crypto or anything which can be considered volatile or slow to withdraw.

If you're interested in touch n go go+ let me know I can share a referral link.

@pwife2015 Open an OCBC 360 savings account. Go check their website out, follow 3 simple steps to earn 2.15% p.a. note that its a savings account, so your liquidity is the same as any bank account.