[Colorado] Is making it impossible for the unemployed to receive their 1099-G in a continued effort to oppress the poor

anjulasubedi

I've spent the last two weeks attempting to help my unemployed brother in Colorado get his 1099-G. Like many Americans he is not the most tech savvy person, as a matter of fact he does not even have easy access to a laptop or desktop computer, no problem I thought I can help him "overcome" the technical hurdles that Colorado has put into place which continue to OPPRESS the unemployed or under employed in this country.

Colorado has implemented a system called ID.ME which is an online verification system which is used to "prevent identity theft" what they forgot to tell you is that it is also designed to continue the oppression of poor people in America.

I'm a software architect, and have been writing code for 20 years and attempting to walk someone through this system is nearly impossible (I live in Nevada so I can only do so much) AND by the time we did successfully navigate the system it required a LIVE representative to validate his documents with him in video chat.

Once he entered the queue for a live representative it took 5 hours, yes 5 HOURS for a live human to enter the chat only to disconnect IMMEDIATLY saying "your passport photo was uploaded incorrectly". Yes it's true I had to have my brother retake the picture of his passport because some of the numbers at the bottom were cut off. You would think the representative could have patiently waited while a new picture was uploaded, especially after waiting 5 hours on hold.

My bother has a part time job at night so we were unable to try this despicable process again until today and now the system is stuck on a page which sends a text message and asks the user to take a "selfie". When people call in for help the representatives are less than helpful and more or less tell you to "just do it on your phone".