Aren’t financing options like “buy now pay in 3-6-12 monthly installments usually interest free” a precursor to financial recession?

cordel

I am no financial expert but when I see how many online stores now embraced all these financing options that allow you getting into debt so easily it feels a bit irresponsible that it’s allowed. What’s worse is that nobody educates you properly before you click the “accept and buy” button.

It was always the case that you could but there would be proper checks in place, now it’s made into such an attractive and open-to-everyone product that I don’t think a lot of people know the implications for.

Poor people who suddenly are unable to pay, slapped with massive interest will have no choice but to default.

Compounded with inflation this is really worrisome.

What are your thoughts? Am I being too sceptical here?

@cordel I think it depends entirely on the person/their situation. I have benefited from these “no interest financing” offers many times. For example, when my refrigerator suddenly died. I couldn’t have afforded at that time to go out and buy a new fridge out of pocket. Nor could I have gone without a fridge for the length of time it would have taken me to save up for one. So I bought one on the NIF and was able to have it delivered quickly and then pay it off in installments over 12 months.