Investing with private banking worth the fees?

Hey all, I'm a newbie in this channel, so I hope you bear with my first question. :)

I recently received a bigger lump sum and now I'm at the crossroads of how to invest it. I do already own a Schwab International broker account in the US with a W-8BEN and I bought some stocks with decent wins so far but mostly at a smaller scale (~200k USD). I however plan to convert them into ETFs at some point so there is less to track (e.g. VUG, XMMO, SMH).

Now with the bigger lump sum, I could either go with private banking e.g. ZKB or Alpenpartners with investment advisors (and thus high fee - I expect roughly that this would be ~1%) or just move this asset over to my existing Schwab International broker account and manage it myself with longterm investing into low cost index fund like the ones mentioned. I do plan to keep this for long, say, 30 years or more and in roughly ~10-15 years from now to withdraw small parts for living expenses (like 2% or so).

Now to my questions:
  • Has anyone made good experience with private banking (ZKB, or smaller shops like Alpenpartners) where they think it was worth the fees for getting access to their internal research / recommendations? Or are the experiences in here to rather go with low-cost passive ETFs and weather through the US market turbulences?
  • The one upside I've heard for paying advisors is that the tax office is less likely to classify you as a trader since you explicitly pay someone to help manage your assets. This may be somewhat relevant for leveraged ETFs?
  • How do you hedge against the US doller long-term when you plan to keep the investments for a 30 year+ horizon? Keeping some of the assets in CHF and investing them into e.g. large cap Swiss ETF like EWL? How much of the assets in % compared to USD?

@thequestionistgirl No.