Insurance is Totaling my Car over a Faulty Repair done several years ago (that damaged the car over time d/t rust) that They Guaranteed. :(

mariusv

Hi guys - I'm a non-traditional college student who is changing careers. It's a lot to explain but long story short, I have a LOT of student loans from my previous career choice. All this is to communicate how much I cannot afford to purchase a new vehicle right now, and why I'm turning to the internet for help.

Back in 2013, I felt like the luckiest girl in the world when I got a KIA soul 2013 for my birthday in 2012. My parents were going to get a used car, but since they were so expensive at the time the difference between new and used was pretty low so they purchased this new one.

A few years later, I was T-boned by someone coming out of a side-street and not paying attention. The passenger side door was crushed and needed to be replaced. It was.

Many years later (i.e., earlier this year in late Spring) my mom noticed when she came to visit that the passenger side door was rusting quite a lot... and there was no damage to that door or side since, so nothing to explain where all this rust was coming from.

She talked to insurance about it and after much digging it turns out that the body shop that repaired the car had actually used a 'bad' door that had rust already on or inside the door somewhere. We took it in and as a result it turns out that the rust had spread to other parts of the vehicle and had now started to eat into the roof and other parts of the car :(

We found the old paperwork from the repair, and it turns out that the insurance company (Traveler's) had "Guaranteed" the repair...so we filed a claim and it has been in the body shop in IL (my home) waiting for parts from Korea (since it's a KIA and covid-19 has slowed down shipping of parts) ever since.