Boss not paying on time

john1277

Hi everyone/ anyone who can help

I’m currently a sole trader working/ sub contracting to someone in Auckland. I am in the trades.

I say sub contracting but I don’t do any work for anybody else and only work for the same person, so technically by some standards in NZ I am an employee.

My current boss is having financial trouble at the moment and has not been paying me on time and sometimes it will be weeks before I get paid (3-4 weeks)

I’m just wondering what if any action I can take to do something about this?

I have a young family and can’t afford to just leave in the current times we are living in. I have bills and mouths to feed.

Everybody gets paid fortnightly but lately he has just been making random excuses and telling me he can’t pay me because of X Y Z reason.

I think in NZ there is a grey area between sole trader/ employee and as sole traders if we wear the uniform, only work for the one company and work a certain percentage of our time for the same company every week we are basically employees.

I’m kind of just trying to find a way to get my boss to pay me on time like everyone else so I can afford to live.

Any advise would be helpful.

Thanks

@john1277
I have a young family and can’t afford to just leave in the current times we are living in. I have bills and mouths to feed.

It sounds more like you can't afford to stay in the current job. The answer isn't leaving or trying to make your employer pay on time. The answer is hoping your employer continues to pay you whilst looking for another job.

@jamesbates Yeah I’m just worried that if I tell him I’m leaving, he will just withhold the money he owes me. I almost need to find a new job, say I’m sick until I get paid for the time I’ve worked and then tell him I’m leaving.

@john1277 Yes, don't tell him you are leaving. You will go to the bottom of the pile of the people he owes money to.