Trying to make a brand new insurance policy for the 1st time. Any solid suggestions, please?

shirl

I've been a long-time resident of Oakland, CA (M29). To save a lot of money on school and living conditions (or not depending on how ppl think), I've been an add-on on my sister's AAA insurance policy and I paid a flat $700/yr since 2015 with liability only and a couple other options (bodily injury liability is $50-100k; $0 medpay; uninsured motorist bodily cov is $50-100k; etc. pretty much all sensible rates).

However, my old car that I've been driving has been driving me nuts (no pun intended) because it's an old '96 Honda and it was originally bought from an abusive driver who didn't give a damn about car maintenance for dirt cheap. I bought the parts and everything and the car worked fine after a lot of money involving fixings. Since then, it's been having hiccups and I've been paying extra to keep it going. That's why I want to move on to a new car (2016 Toyota bought from my mother which she kept in pretty good condition) and buy a brand new insurance policy on that Toyota. Her family members can still use my old car if they wish since it's still on her policy but I'm not really interested in trying to use it again after all the troubles I went thru with it.