Should I manage my own 401(k)?

neari

I’m closing in on $100K in my 401(k) at 30yo. I’ve been contributing for 4 years. My entire 401(k) is currently invested in the Vanguard Target 2060 Fund. I was considering splitting my future contributions between this fund and an S&P 500 Index fund. Thoughts? I’m open to suggestions of other changes I can make.

@nidge This. I was doing a fund like you have been in but there is too much you aren’t making with that approach for now. When you get closer to retirement, a date fund makes sense. For now with many working years please do sp500. You will do so much better. I did 4 years ago and doubled my money already.

@hsong Isn't a targeted date fund supposed to be rebalancing your account automatically to do exactly this? More stocks and risk early, more bonds and stability later?

@catcher2000 Yes. That is correct however if you look at the allocation, it isn’t all stocks even when you have 36 years until retirement. That was my mistake and why I made less in the timed plan and have moved to all SP500.

@catcher2000 the question is why are you holding any bonds at this point? they're 30. that means they have roughly a 4 decade investing horizon starting with $100k. Any "risk" is completely negated by the enormous length of time they're going to be holding these investments.

imagine being scared about investing from the 1981 crash and shying away from stocks. in the last 40 years the market has returned 11.5% with dividends reinvested. that return on $100k investment without ever contributing another cent would be almost 8 million dollars. If they had a recurring $325/month contribution that they increased 1% every year over those 40 years, their account would be worth $10M.

you can even apply that logic to the dot com bubble, or the housing crisis, or the pandemic. those were all erased in a blip on their investment timeline. it's not worth considering.