I’m looking to get myself enrolled into a PRSA before this horrendous auto-enrolment scheme kicks in this year (I’m surprised there’s not uproar about how this is being implemented because long term this will make pensions much more costly to the individual as far as I’m concerned)

Info about me:
25y/o
My employer won’t facilitate money straight from my wages (I know this isn’t allowed but I’ve not got far with them on any similar issues no I’ve decided to let this be).
I think a PRSA is the best way to go for me but I’m open to other options if there’s better out there.
I have an ok savings pot at the moment so will be looking to invest in initially a lump sum of whatever is tax efficient for my earnings last year up front (somewhere between 6-7k is my estimate).
I want to contribute just short of the 15% allowed for tax relief monthly on my current wage (I am a contractor so it’s a contingency in case my contract is not renewed, I would top up to the max at the end of the year- I just don’t want to assume 40% relief and accidentally fall into the 20% if I’m out of work for any time).

I’ve had a chat with Irish Life and the fees seem to be insane for their account. Only 95% of what I give them will be actually invested and then there’s a 1% annual fee (minimum, potentially more if I choose certain funds) for them to do effectively nothing is my understanding after that?
If I was to put in 10k, before anything has gone up or down they’ve already skimmed €600 off my money. And that 1% fee will only get more significant as years go on (it’s off the balance, not increase).

Is this standard? These fees seem incredibly high. Or are Irish Life giving me poor terms here because I don’t know what I’m talking about? Are there options where these fees are lesser that I might be better off looking into?