Willing to jump, but still a bit afraid (open my own business)

enddayshappy

I hope all you people are having a good time and getting ready for the holidays.

Well, I’ll try to be a bit concise.

About me: 41 y/o, veterinary surgeon, expat from a non-native English speaking country. Holding a permanent residence.
I’ve been working for 9 years for a dispatch company (ALT), in my defence: it’s one of the few jobs I can finish early so I can spend time with my 5 y/o daughter.
Wife is a Japanese National, with a pharmacist license.

I have some savings overseas (around 140K usd) and willing to use them to either open a business or as a partial payment for own own property.

The problem is that it seems I got used to the ‘easy’ life of being an ALT, I think many of you know how effortless this job is, but we also know it’s not the ideal career one wants to pursue.

Wife doesn’t have any idea about finances or procedures, so she’s as scared as me.

So I was wondering if some of you have any successful stories about starting a business here in Japan, the challenges, the happy and not-too-happy moments and most importantly, if it’s possible to have a decent income/life out of it.

Currently we’re living in Nagano but planning to move to Yokohama since we want our daughter growing up in a place with more opportunities for her future.

Thanks in advance and happy holidays!

@enddayshappy Your biggest assets are probably your professional experience and your language skills. Why aren't you making use of those?

You talk about "starting a business" in vague terms. Do you have a formally written business plan?

I think you are right to hesitate. Sit down, put pen to paper, take a Udemy course or two on business planning.

Then sit down with your wife and make a plan together for your families future.