UK-based US-expat: How to invest while keeping the IRS and HMRC happy?

supescritter

Hello everyone. I've tried to be compact with my writing.

US expat in UK for the long-term, probably 'forever'. Working a normal office job in the UK for a global company (no plans to relocate so not factoring that in here). I am aware of the extent/magnitude of IRS reporting duties, and the many ways by which an expat might inadvertently increase their reporting obligation and taxation rate to a stratospheric level. I am by no means an expert, but I'm trying to be careful from the very beginning. I also currently know next-to-nothing about the tax system of the UK, but I don't take it any less seriously, and will change that in the coming year.

Below are some questions that have been boring holes in my head for a little while now. If anyone can answer even a single one of them, it is much appreciated.
  • Are there any firms that will accept a US taxpayer, with a UK address, to buy assets (and occasionally sell), that are both IRS and HMRC compliant?
  • If the answer is 'no', does using a US-address with an American brokerage introduce even a whiff of tax or other legal complexity, from the perspective of the IRS and HMRC? e.g. FATCA
  • Are there UK-based firms which accept US-taxpaying UK-based clients, who invest in IRS and HMRC-safe assets? As in, all US-domiciled so as not to introduce PFIC etc.
  • Is there an inflection point, where one has enough in returns from various investment approaches, to fully outweigh increased reporting and taxation burdens? That is, are there benefits to scaling with one's investment such that the rate of increases in gains outstrips the associated rate of increases in reporting and taxation costs?
  • Are there US-domiciled ETF's/all-US investments, that are HMRC-reporting, PRIIPs complicant, that would actually be accessible to myself?
  • What does buying/holding/selling US stocks directly look like for a UK-based US person like myself?