leonariver

I’m a yoga teacher, single, child-free and this month I will reach R1 million in savings and investments at 34 years old. I work in Japan at a holiday resort and can save my entire salary of R24 000 net a month because food and accommodation is taken care of.

I have R48 000 in my Japanese bank account, an emergency fund in a Standard Bank Money Market Select Investment account of R275 000 at 8.7% per annum (I use the interest to pay for my retirement annuity), a retirement annuity with Sanlam Cumulus Echo Bonus (R39C) of R212 000, R35 000 invested in Bitcoin, Ethereum and USDC currently worth R76 000, impact farming investments of R130 000 in 300 blueberry bushes at 10% per annum for 8 years and 300 moringa trees at 10% per annum for 3 years with Fedgroup with a current return of R38 500, a unit trust with Allan Gray worth R56 500 from a R20 000 investment, TFSA of R36 000 at 11.3% per annum with Fedgroup currently at R41 600, TFSA with Easy Equities In Nasdaq 100 (R36 000 investment) currently worth R64 500, S&P 500 (R24 000), and S&P500 Info Tech (R24 000), and MSCI World (R24 000) ETFs.
  • Is this good for 34?
  • Is my portfolio diverse enough?
  • Should I balance my portfolio in any way?
  • What else should I invest in for long-term? Gold, fixed deposit accounts, retail bonds, foreign currency accounts?

@davidricca You say you slackin. Im 27 and sitting on -R30k 😂 my goal is to just be at 0 end of this year right now. Its shitty but thats how life is. You should always be proud of making it where you are now. Dont compare yourself to others. Its the biggesr mistake a person can make.