ETF composition Questions for Saving Plan

kcnalp

Hi all,

I would like to take advantage of zero commission offered by my bank for ETF buying. This is my first time investing in ETF, and I would like to put 500 EUR/p.m into a saving plan.

Unfortunately the list of "Free" ETF is quite limited (~135 ETfs in total).

So I ended up with this list:

No.
ETF
TER %
Investment %

Lyxor MSCI World UCITS ETF

iShares EURO STOXX(DE)UCITS ETF - DIS

Vanguard EUR Eurozone Government Bond UCITS ETF - DIS

Is this reasonable? I would like to invest in Emerging Market instead of Govt. Bond but among those 135 only Lyxor MSCI EM ESG Trend Leaders UCITS ETF - USD (0.3 TR) and Franklin LibertyQ Emerging Markets UCITS ETF (0.55 TER!) are available.

I can also replace #1 with Amundi Index Solutions MSCI World Ex Europe ETF - EUR ACC (0.3 TER), since I already invested in EU STOXX anyway.

Any pointers are appreciated!

@kcnalp > Vanguard EUR Eurozone Government Bond UCITS ETF - DIS

Effective YTM: -0.0%. Minus the management fees, you're just losing money on this turd.

Unless you want to bet rates are going to go even lower? Then you should go for longer maturities.

@kcnalp If possible, I would recommend accumulating ETFs.

Are you also sure u want eu- govies in your portfolio?? Negative yields all over the place...

In addition, maybe going for the non-free ETFs is still beneficial given the high TER of the free - however that depends on your horizon, commissions style etc...

@tumin0 Hi, accumulating ETF is the one I'm looking too, if the tax arrangement (I live in DE) does not eat up all of the yield.

Govt bonds are there for 10% just to replace emerging market, if there is EM i'd go with that.

What is a reasonable range of TER? I thought 0.2 is okayish, is something lower expected?

I can go with TradeRepublic, to get more options for non-free ETF, and at 1 Eur/buy it's bearable, but it's new and App only, so I have reservation. What broker do you use?