Choosing the right broker as a Muslim

spookydawg77

So I'm a UK resident, I already have a Wahed account with an ISA which I opened this year, so in the hunt for a brokers I didn't really care about whether it supported ISAs. Wahed also ends up investing into a shariah compliant ETF which spreads its investment across 350 world wide companies using iShares MSCI World Islamic UCITS ETF in one (and you can see a full list of companies on that link) and 150 emerging markets using HSBC Islamic Global Equity Index Fund IC (GBP) (I'm on a aggressive plan) in another which is more than enough diversification for the passive investor. So I was going to use this as a primarily way to invest, the broker I chose was a side hustle to this.

One problem with Wahed, I'm very environmentally conscious and I've noticed that sharia compliant doesn't necessarily mean green. In the ETF's mentioned, they include companies like Shell and BP which I would rather cut out. So I got aspirations to slowly shift into my own managed and diversified portfolio, that's green as can be. Additionally I have a view that as a Muslim I shouldn't be investing in a company that is running against Muslim values/ummah or resides in a country that is governed by right wing Islamophobes. An example of this is the companies like Tata group who are known to be one of the largest donors of the BJP party in India, and recently hit some controversy with muslim-hindu relations. Tata group also features in the MSCI world Islamic index ... So the index is not perfect in my view. Thus began my search...

I found some cool sites that do a comparison between brokers called brokerchooser.com which was a great place to start and discover different brokers but the information like fees can be out off date. So I found getting information from the source is best.

I first started by signing up to trading 212, however they stick you in a waiting list. I've been waiting for a good 5 months now! So I moved on ...