Can some1 help me understand if this means the company is making money from interest or what do it mean?

riverstears

So I want to understand balance sheets and company financials so I can know if they are in debt, if they getting money from interest etc...

Lets use this company as an example: https://finance.yahoo.com/quote/AITX/

If I go to financials > income statement > and search with quarterly

I see their interest is in the negative

Net Interest Income

-4,043 -1,076 -1,180 -529.484 -1,258 -825.504

So their most recent quarter they have net interest income of -4,045 does that mean they are getting less interest or what does the negative number mean?

I know if we are looking at something like revenue and we see its negative it means they are losing money. Also why talking about revenue here is their total revenue

Side question:

I am new to the stockmarket, but yahoo says "All numbers in thousands"

So is 119.7 like they made a profit of $119? Or what is that number do I add 3 zeros to it and becomes 119.7,000 doesn't make sense haha sorry if I am being dumb!

Just to be sure what about a number like 8,728 is that like $8,728? Thanks!

Kind of going off topic now back to main question

TLDR​

If interest income is in the negative what does that mean to a company? They are not getting money from interest and its haram?

@riverstears I would highly, highly recommend not getting financial information or ratios (like debt to assets) from these websites like yahoo finance, wall street journal, etc that just aggregate data and try to present it in a basic/standardized way.

This is because their aggregation is imperfect and especially not helpful for halal screening. As an example, see the below comment about Gamestop and how someone was trying to say GME isn't halal because of the debt ratios on wsj. That ratio included lease liability in debt, which shouldn't be included in halal screening because it's not interest-bearing debt.