Would you take a massive paycut & an unwanted job overseas for your dreams?

veryhappyman

Hi all! I was working remotely for a US company in Malaysia until July 2023 when my whole team got retrenched. My goal is to move to Singapore to built a living & be closer to my partner, who is also working in Singapore.

I was working as a Software Developer (self-taught except for a few classes in C Programming, my degree is in Biotech). My actual YoE as a Software Developer is about 7 months, whereas I worked as a Project Manager (1+ years) and a Data Engineer for 2+ years. My last drawn salary was 5k USD. I've been applying for these different functions since then, however did not get back from anyone despite using referrals.

I recently got a job as a Junior Project Manager in Singapore (my first choice is to be a software dev again, that is my primary interest & where I flourish most). The offered salary is 3.6k SGD monthly with 13th month salary. This is the only job offer I have gotten since July'23. Now, I understand that this is a very SMALL amount to survive in Singapore, but I have a place to stay temporarily in Singapore (rent-free) and my expenses are very minimal. My plan is to get a PR as soon as possible so that it would be easier for me to apply for technical roles in the future & be eligible for CPF.

Would it be foolish of me to make this jump & start from the bottom again? My motives is to move out of Malaysia & built my career there. But I'd love to hear your honest opinion regarding this on whether you would turn down this offer & continue interviewing if you were in my position (which.. I don't know when I'll get a job & I feel like I'm losing time each day to get a PR in Singapore). Thank you!

@veryhappyman singaporean here. don't do it. they are shortchanging you.

it's harder to apply as a pr on a workpermit and s pass than it is on an ep.