Where to store 5k for retirement?

michaelaj

I’m getting 5 thousand dollars pretty soon and I’ve found it hard to save in these past months, since I don’t really need the extra money and haven’t started investing in my retirement I thought I’d try and figure out what’s the best thing to do with this money to help me in the future, I make 30k a year at 20 years old and just want some advice on what direction I should be heading in

@michaelaj Open up a self directed FHSA account, it's similar to an RRSP but that might more beneficial for you incase you'd want to put it into a home years down the line. You'll save income tax as well depending on your contribution.

@john127 Yeah that’s what I was planning on, after I have one open I’ll put the 5k in and start putting $200 into it monthly. Would I just go to my bank and ask them for help to open one? Or can I open one online ? Sorry if I’m asking dumb questions I’m just new to all this

@michaelaj You can do ut online as well, either with your bank or questrade where I have mine. Just make sure you don't go over your yearly contribution room.

@michaelaj An RRSP might be a good option. You get a tax credit as a result and would likely net you a fair refund on that amount when you do your taxes for the tax year.

Smart people would then tax that tax refund and re-invest it (and more if possible) in subsequent years. Now is the time for you to be taking advantage of the "miracle of compound interest".

@michaelaj I’d strongly suggest a TFSA and invest in index funds. The big benefit to a TFSA over an RRSP is liquidity (let’s say at 30 you need $10k, you can pull this from your TFSA without penalty but your RRSP will see penalties and taxes). You also pay taxes on every dollar of your RRSP - it’s just deferred until you’re older. You do not pay taxes on interest from TFSA.