Where do I begin ?

juliussneezer

Hi everyone, I’m in my early 20s in the US and would like to start investing. I had a few questions and would love your guys help!

1. What platform should I use that is halal Wahed or Fidelity?
  2. Would it be better to invest weekly and about how much should I put in there?
  3. Do I just keep my money in there like a savings account or do I have to monitor things and choose to take them out when the market gets high or low (I barely know anything abt finance). Also, is there a possibility of me losing ALL my money?
  4. I am wanting more long term like 10-15 years since I don’t need any spending money now and I’m also really new at this.

@juliussneezer Use Wealthsimple, it has a good user interface and easy to use and excellent support team.

Depends on what your goal is

Invest in ETF's, open a TFSA, see what TFSA's are, learn about the various accounts available, then look into halal ETF's such as HLAL, SPUS,SPRE,GLDM, SPSK, UMMA

I would recommend you see EverythingMoney Channel on youtube to learn the basics. Use YahooFinance to check prices, news of stocks and Etfs. Zacks.com to see holdings of ETF's.

ETF's are a collection of stocks basically. Each ETF is unique where it has its own ticker symbol, various companies and percentages. Example, SPUS is an ETF that has over 100 companies, 13% is apple, 12%microsoft etc. The percentages vary from time to time depending on the fund manager as markets change from time to time

@juliussneezer Wealthsimple is a Canadian brokerage and TFSAs are Canadian accounts. Find the US equivalent.

ETFs are a collection of stocks that are passively managed. They track an index like the S&P 500, Dow Jones, etc.

@juliussneezer Salam! This is just general information, not financial advice, hope it helps!