Where can I get over 5% on a savings account or GIC, now that BoC raised rates again?

syd

Looking for 5.25 or 5.5 ideally. I could do non-registered and move TFSA and RRSP if needed for the best rates.

Currently have money in Cash.To but that’s under 5%.

My Simplii and Tangerine promos are over now and they won’t give me more than 4%. But I know other customers are getting 5.25!

@pastorvjoshua Its paid once a month, calculated on the last day, then paid out about a week or so later. I am also fairly new to it, so no worries.

Here is the official page for it. The pay out info is under "distributions"

https://horizonsetfs.com/ETF/cash/

The value goes up over the month, then resets to $50 a unit. The earnings (your gain/interest) will be lost when it resets, but is paid out. Also since the value slowly increases over the month, if you sell some to cash out, you still get the partial interest as the price will be higher than the $50 you bought in at.

In terms of buying it, on your wealth simple app, look for "Horizons High Interest Savings ETF Class A", its sign is "CASH" I think the .to bit is added to refer to the Toronto TSX traded one, so really we can just called it CASH

@pastorvjoshua Each day you wait you’re closer to the record date. The interest is, in layman’s terms, ‘building up’ over the course of the month but until it pays out, it’s being factored into the share price. So in short, it doesn’t matter. You either get the interest via the elevated share price or through the disbursement.

@melista If I do in the start of the month and after a month my principal will stay as such and gained interest will be paid back. If I buy at higher price and after the interest payout my principal will be less than what I invested, right?