northwind

Hey! So, I’m definitely not rich, and looking at the amount of savings I managed to get over the past years, I’m rather realistic about ever being able to make more than I do with my current job. I mean, I love what I do, but it’s not gonna get me far with money. I have around 15k EUR in my account, and since last year I’m able yo save monthly around 500 EUR. It’s very little in compare to the amounts some people ask here about. Nevertheless, I live in Germany, am a EU citizen and I just hate that my money sits in my free account without any investment - short or long. I’m also very new to the topic of saving and investing.
That’s why I’m wondering, if somebody has here more experience, what would you do in my shoes? Start playing with Trade Republic/investing, getting some private pension plan, or I also saw DKB has 3% depot for 6 months.
I’d like to start from something, but I’m just overwhelmed by all the posts or infos I’ve been reading. And definitely I wouldn’t like to loose money…

@northwind 500€ per month is actually a lot, if this is the amount you can live without every month.

I would nudge you towards r/Fire, but don't just take my word for it. It's your money, do research meticulously.

For a general idea https://www.thecalculatorsite.com/finance/calculators/compoundinterestcalculator.php

Assuming you're:
  • starting with 0€ in investing (15k€ should be your emergency fund - always easily accessible)
  • can do this for 20 years before expected retirement date
  • average returns minus inflation 8%
  • monthly deposits of 500€ in world diversified ETF (like VWCE)
you would have about 285k€ invested at retirement. 4% rule says you can withdraw 20k€ per year without investment number going down. But if you want to die with zero, and assuming you'll live in retirement for 40 years you can withdraw 23k€ per year for the rest of your life. This is assuming you don't get any pension or money elsewhere.