What to do with a tiny 2a amount when moving abroad

veteran1990

Hi everyone, I did some googling and search of past posts on here but couldn‘t find much on my question, so I hope someone is able to point me in the right direction 🙏🏻

I’m from the EU and just spent 6 months working in Switzerland for an internship. I‘m leaving the country indefinitely on Friday and just received a letter from Swisslife asking me to tell them what to do with my notably tiny amount of 2a money. In total it‘s only about 900Fr, but I feel like it‘d be stupid to not care at all about what happens to it.

From what I understand, I have two options which is either to do nothing and have them move it to their Freizügigkeitsstiftung or have them transfer it to a Freizügigkeitskonto where I can possibly invest it properly (Finpension or Viac I‘ve read?). This is all stressing me out a bit because I‘m a total newbie to the Swiss pension system so I would really really appreciate some input!

Is it even worth the hassle to open a Freizügigkeitskonto and invest that tiny amount of money? Is their „default“ Stiftung much worse? What would you do in this sitution?

Side note: I might move back to Switzerland in the future after finishing my studies, earliest in 1 1/2 years. This is a pretty short timeframe for investing the money in funds, but I‘ve read that the law that has you transfer the money from any Freizügigkeitskonto you have is not really enforced so is it a realistic plan to just invest it now and then leave it there indefinitely?

Thank you for taking the time to read all of this and any potential answers you have for me 🙏🏻