What is the best way to understand and become a great wealth/asset manager?

lk03

I’m a finance and accounting grad and I’d like to go into asset management but it’s not the main path that I’ve been considering, however, it does look interesting and definitely something I’d like due to its nature; analytical, decision making and it being obvious when you’re doing well because you succeed, but I don’t know how to actually proceed or develop my skills, hell, I don’t even know what skills I should be improving or where.

Another problem is that I live in the U.K. in a city that doesn’t have many relevant job opportunities and I’m not planning on moving for at least a year or two.

Any advice/recommendations?

@lk03 I’m not 100% sure about this, but honestly I feel like the wealth management game is more about building customer relationships and getting out and meeting enough people who are willing to trust you with their savings more than it is about having some investment strategy. Wealth management firms like T Rowe Price, Schwab, Merrill, UBS, etc. are going to have turn key portfolios for their advisors to follow. You’re far too young to go out on your own and start a firm yourself so you’re going to want to snag a job at an established firm first, build your network, and then when the time is right step out onto your own.

Anyway, my best advice that I can give to a younger man such as yourself is to start building your network. The old cliche of “it’s not what you know it who you know” is so fucking true.

@kellyjk I agree, that’s why I want to go into it - meeting people, being witty and charismatic = success, and I’m a believer of “you adapt to your surroundings”, so if I’ll be put under the pressure to be good/become more charismatic, then I’ll kill two birds with one stone, as that’s what I want anyways and I’ll be getting paid for it.