verysad

Im a uni student who recently got access to my raya/cny/general savings account ive had since a kid. I don't have any consistent income, just packing jobs here and there for my food and gas which are the only "commitments" i have. Talkin abt less than 300 a month. Im a bit of a anxious person esp with a 20 yr car so have abt 1k in an online tabung. Is this enough??

The account is still a joint RHB MaxSave account, and i dont mind changing banks (i like Maybanks app way more). I have put abt 10k into PMO with the advice of my mom and her investor friend (also gets commission from PMO). Its been doing well? Returned ~2k in almost 2 years. My dad is more conservative w investments, only buys stock at where he works besides maxing ASNB, EPF etc etc.

Im aware their experience is very biased so thats why i wanna ask this sub.

Most of the advice is to those who already have consistent income streams/commitments so a few questions i guess;
  1. How much should my emergency fund be?
  2. Is there an account you think i should transfer the money to?
  3. FD, TnG, UOB, are the ones i see that are brought up that might be beneficial to me. What are your thoughts on this?
I know this isnt a large sum of money, but it feels like it to me lmao. Im also not a fan of putting all my eggs in one basket, and dont mind trying stocks, just want more advise to how i should split them and some stuff to try out.

And yes, i do have fun and understand i can also invest in myself. I keep my daily needs as low as possible so i can go eat out and have small trips with my friends. This has just been a looming thought cause its mostly just been sitting there.

Thank you for your time!!

@verysad Just a quick tip -

Public Mutual, along with any other mutual fund that charges a high management fee to help 'invest' your funds, are basically scams that profit off you. There is no fund that can consistently beat out the market over a long-term period.