What budgeting apps do people use that connect to bank accounts?

almiva

Looking for something to help me budget but don’t want to manually enter in any data. I’ve heard about PocketSmith and I’m wondering if there are any other apps out there people use for budgeting?

@almiva I love Pocketsmith: the first batch of transaction categorization was a bit painful but now I do it weekly, takes about 10 minutes, and my partner and I take this opportunity to talk about what we've bought and how we're going with saving etc. (This is my top money tip for relationships: talk about it)

I've been using it a number of years (since 2016) and have slowly increased the plan I'm on as I find it more and more useful for forecasting, asset tracking, budgeting, etc.

https://my.pocketsmith.com/friends/zploxv

Use this for a month free if you like: if you upgrade to paid I get a free month.

@daddibubba Can't say enough good things about Pocket Smith. For many it will be too powerful and overwhelming but it really doesn't need to be that complex. Having the power there in the platform is useful as your financial literacy and control matures.

@mchava4 Agree. Started with the free (or close to free) plan, and just used it to track spending and review where our money was going. From there, we started to actually budget, and now we're forecasting way out, using it to plan large purchases and track savings goals and asset appreciation.

I genuinely believe Pocketsmith was a massive factor in us getting hold of our finances and now we're probably wealthier because of that.

@almiva Remember that any budgeting app which automatically pulls transaction data from your bank to the app requires that you login to the app using your bank details, which is 100% against bank policy (for good reason, it is extremely risky).