US College Grad in DE: Advice

kiia

I’m a recent college grad (engineering) with US+EU citizenship planning to stay in Germany indefinitely as my fiancé is German. Starting a new job as an engineer making €63k which isn’t much coming from the US but the company will buy me a car for private use and pay for insurances and everything. I also am in a situation where I’ll pay half the taxes I usually would so roughly only €10k.

I’m just about to start my career and I am wondering how to go about investing/saving. I would greatly appreciate it if somebody could give me some advice. What do people do for investing here? What’s the best way for me to invest? Should I transfer euros to USD to invest in the American market? I would plan on pretty much just investing in the S&P 500 and keeping some USD in HYSA’s for emergency use.

Is there anything I can take advantage of in my situation? Any tax credits to look into? Honestly I’m just looking for some advice. Thanks in advance.

EDIT: Also for whatever it’s worth, it’s not difficult for me to maintain a residence or anything in the USA. All my family lives there, still have my residence and stuff at my parents, still have a US phone plan I can get free texts with here when needed for dual verification

@kiia Any investment accounts must be in USD with a US residential address. If you can use your parents place, that's good. You likely want to open accounts before moving if it's possible. You can't let your brokerage find out you're in Europe or they'll close your account.

@frhi Yup, I already have an account with Chase and Fidelity and I’ve been here for three years. However I was wondering if it’s practical/makes sense to convert euros to dollars for investing or if there’s a traditional alternative that people do here instead that would be better