Universal Whole Life Policy

rabshield

I’m worried that I was scammed into a bad life insurance investment. I’m a 28 y/o lawyer with >$200k salary and a homeowner. My financial advisor convinced me to get a universal whole life insurance policy in September 2023: $1.1 mil death benefit, $12k annual premium. Am I over insured/overpaying? Should I cancel my policy now before I waste more money on monthly premiums, or should I stick it out for the long haul?

TYIA.

@rabshield Do you have a whole life or an index universal life policy? There are some dangers with an IUL that are not present with a whole life. Does the death benefit increase? I’m assuming it does

@rabshield Literally that’s perfect for you. That’s an amazing rate while you’re young and successful. After 2 years your interest in your policy will pay the policy and your dividends will be normal income for the rest of your life.

Please stick it out and just enjoy the cash value building up. If you want to surrender your policy, which is what you do with Whole life, you don’t cancel you surrender the policy…you get pretty much everything you paid in after a certain period of time I can tell you exactly how much if you’d like.

But no bro great move if it’s ever food or your policy cancel but save your money.

@rabshield Ok, thanks. If this is the goal, then the insurance amount is only important from a cost and accumulation efficiency perspective. I would need to know more to diagnose this, but generally speaking you want the least amount of death benefit for premium paid. In other words, maximally funding the policy as much as possible while keeping tax-free withdrawals.

A $12k/yr premium doesn't sound like you are max funding this $1.1 million policy so you may have some tweaks you could make to get more accumulation potential.