tonemapped

I am a 29 y/o male, about a year married with a new born. I love my family, hence why I keep thinking how I can better my future. Consequently they’ll have a better one too if I do.

Little back story.

I’ve been working at seafood wholesalers for the past 9 years in NY. It is not a bad job, I like what I do, it brings food to my table but the quality of life just doesn’t seem to be there or maybe I'm not realizing how good i have it ? We work overnights only, and are open from monday-friday, off one holiday every month. However I don't see much advancement within the company, the work culture is also very old school ways.

I acquired a Bs in Criminal Justice with a Minor in Fraud Examination, while working this job and graduated in 2020 mid pandemic. I am wondering if making this switch would be something beneficial to me and my family. I was always fascinated with law, but I think that train has already left the station.

I apologize for not giving numbers now…

I am a union worker, however the union that represents us now is not the same one that it used to be. Long story short, the old union had no funds. International stepped in and merged with us. So that’s a plus. We get health, dental, vision.
My contributions are $60 for health weekly, while, 65 for unions dues monthly.

I made around 60,000 last year with no savings.
There’s a pay grade scale but they only use it for entry level, and from then on each wage is mostly personally arranged by the employee and employer.
For example: I would get hired as a forklift operator and will remain that if employee is comfortable with that.
Let me not start with the pension.
Mind you my wife was working and now is not. New York is really hard to afford.