To buy or not to buy a property: I've been renting for 2 years and wondering whether to buy. Should I?

benjamin413

MY BACKGROUND

Hi! 28F professional living in Houston, TX here. Stable job with a salary of $135,000 annually + a bonus of around $55,000. My credit score is around 750. No student debt or car loans, basically no debt. I currently have around $110,000 in savings, most of which is cash on my bank account (I am not great in managing it frankly). My monthly saving rate is around 40% of my salary. I do not own any real estate. I have an old car that I bought with cash. No dependents.

THE CASE

I've been renting for the past 2 years and I am wondering whether to buy my own apartment or to whether to continue renting. My monthly rent is currently around $1100 for a townhouse. The lease expires this February and I have an option to extend it for another year at the same price. So that's the Plan A: another year of ~$13,000 (12 x $1100) spent on rent.

My Plan B is to NOT extend the lease and buy a similar property. I've found one for $200,000. I can put $50,000 now as a down-payment, so I'd take a loan for $150,000. I am already pre-approved for a 30-year fixed rate loan at 7.3%. My monthly payments would be

• Principal & Interest: $1020,

• Insurance: $200,

• Property Tax: $300,

• HOA: $440

• Utilities: $100

So around $2100 in total.

The property has two bedrooms, so I can probably bring this down to $1300 if I rent out one of the two bedrooms. Also, I save a lot and I have high annual bonuses, so I will probably be able to pay the entire loan of $150,000 within 3 years.

ANALYSIS