Things to do when leaving the US permanently (not a US citizen)

shawnab

I studied in the US on F1 visa and worked for some years on OPT. I do not have US citizenship or a greencard.

I am planning to leave the US permanently and live as a digital nomad for the next few years. I'm currently looking at countries like Costa Rica or Panama that offer remote worker visas, and EU countries, where I can live and work with my (Swiss) passport.

My (US) employer is fine with this. My role is fully remote and I would just switch from a W2 employee to a contractor. (It is also easier for them than the whole visa sponsorship headache.)

What preparations do I have to do to make this happen? Here are some questions:

1. How do I officially end my US tax residency? I don't want the IRS and my state to think I owe them anything after I left the country.
  2. What do I do with my US bank and brokerage accounts? I have a 401k, HSA, Roth IRA and a few other bank accounts. Is there a way to keep these open and still use them even if I no longer live in the US? I'd need at least one account to receive my USD paychecks. I'd also like to keep some US credit cards.
  3. Would it be worth keeping a US mail address for this purpose? I hear there are mail forwarding services that give you a physical address.
  4. I also have a google voice number that I am using for 2FA (works with most of my banks from outside the US). Can I keep this number if I no longer live in the US?
  5. What else do I absolutely have to do BEFORE I physically leave the US? I feel I can't just hop on a one-way flight and figure things out later.
  6. Do you have any good sources on this? All the articles I could find are about leaving the US with the intention to return. I do not want to return but leave permanently.
  7. Can you recommend a tax asvisor or accountant who is familiar with such situations? I would like to do this by the book if at all possible.

Thanks!