Single 55 yr old woman. What’s next?

sufi

Single 55 yr old woman w/2 adult dtrs living at home while still in university. I’ve paid off $150k of debt in 5 years. I only have $110 000 in investments. No pension or benefits, no savings but can access a heloc if needed. I’m a contractor and anticipate this assignment will last for 3 more years so I’d like to set myself up as best I can in case it doesn’t renew and I’m 3 years older.
I have no other debt other than my mortgage. I owe $175k at 1.59% renewing May 2026. I have about $2500 I can throw to savings or the mortgage. Please advise.

@sufi Do what you can to have continued employment. You're not going to be able to retire at 58 when your contract ends. You're probably going to have to keep working for a while. But if you are able to save 2500/month while working that is great.

If the kids move away after university, look at the costs of remaining where you are versus downsizing. As part of that, have a conversation with your children to let them know your financial situation.

@marine04 I’m fortunate to have a two bedroom basement suite. My kids know that once school is done they either have to pay rent or move out so I can rent it out. I purposely bought this house because I didn’t receive child support and I used that for extra income before they both moved into the basement suite.

@sufi It's really sad that this is the state of our country that we need to charge our children rent in order to survive.

This is not the case in many many countries. You say you charge your kids rent in south America or Greece where I am visiting now and they will look at you like you're an alien.

@pacific75 Many parents plan is retirement with kids here - but do the rent, kick out thing anyway in the most devastating economic expensive time on record

@cradlerc58 I mean I’m they essentially own two housing units so it’s not that sad a story…