Should the Air Force Salary be a deterrent for me joining?

marissa90

I make around 45k a year, own my house, and have a sizeable 401k, a big reason I am hesitant to join is the low salary. I currently work for a government contractor doing cyber security and order processing (we sell equipment to VA Hospitals). If I joined I would most likely rent my house or just pay the mortgage and keep it empty with the plan on moving back after my enlistment period. I would join as an E-3 since I have an Associate's degree but from what I've been reading I would not get BAS or BAH until I get to leave the dorms which could be up to 3 years. Age is mid 20s. Are you guys able to give some pros and cons on the pay?

EDIT: Thank you all for your thoughts and advice I am not trying to get rich off the military just wanted to know if the pay and future benefits were actually comparable to my current salary. I also regret not enlisting when I was fresh out of high school and wanted to enlist at age 21-22 then got into some legal issues. I have waivers to get over that f**k up and was looking for more personal experiences versus the research I've done. I really believe this is path I want to go. I feel like the AF has more to offer in the long term versus my current job whether or not I am enlisted for 4-6 years or make a career out of it. Also, if any of you have experience in communications/cyber or intelligence AFSC's then that would be appreciated as well!

@marissa90 I think the BEST thing you can do is to ask questions early, kudos for that.

I'll speak in general terms here. Am a ~15 year enlisted guy who joined immediately after high school with no assets and nothing in savings.

A lot of folks say "you don't join to get rich", but a lot of folks are also wrong. I'm at just shy of 1 mil cash and well over that if you count property.