Should I surrender indexed universal life insurance policy?

vincey

Reposting here from r/personalfinance:

Family friend sold to me when I was 21 and I've been paying $100/month for about the last 7 years now. After reading up on it a little more, it seems like it makes sense to surrender the policy and invest more into a 401K/IRA since I'm single with no kids...

The only reason I'm hesitant is the $2,700 surrender charge...is it worth keeping until I can withdraw the full cash value? Or cut my loses and say "lesson learned"?

Death benefit: $150,000

Cash Value: $6,238.12

Surrender Value: $3,538.12

Total Premiums Issue to Date: $8,828.76

Monthly Guaranteed No Lapse Premium: $50.12

Edit: Currently a grad student so no employer matched 401k but I do have a Roth IRA that I try to contribute the max amount to each year.

Updates as of 2/2/24:

surrender charge expires at 15 years

cost of insurance is $35.75 with excess going towards index

Minimum no lapse premium: $50.12

here's some info from the inforce illustration, definitely leaning towards closing the policy...

https://preview.redd.it/yo33snuh59g...bp&s=bff28a300fbdc630300aa764fcd34fe4244e1346

https://preview.redd.it/zyg2vsuh59g...bp&s=46001930e6e4ee71c429256259b5c9be6a0e13ee

https://preview.redd.it/zqlg70vh59g...bp&s=93b75d3353346d86af6ece1ce652ecbaa31f1451

@vincey Don't surrender it. Switch to option 1 (level death benefit). Your cost of insurance will go down with each passing year and you'll get tax free growth which you won't get with 401k and IRA. Those will be ordinary income when you start taking RMDs one day.

@vincey You DO have access to the cash value in retirement with loans from/against your policy. There are two loan types that most IUL's offer.