Seeking Insurance Underwriting Opportunities in Canada

questionquest74

Hi Everyone,

I am an Insurance professional with 6.5 years of experience and MBA in Finance in the Indian Insurance Industry. Recently, I shifted to GTA, Canada permanently and am seeking career advice to pursue my career in underwriting here. I have done some research and saw Ontario Graduate Certificate- Insurance Management- Property and Casualty from Humber College, CIP Programs and CRM Programs but don't know which one to pursue. I have tried applying for Junior / Assistant Underwriting Positions but did not even get a response. Please guide me through this, I would appreciate your kind guidance.

@caowen Could you explain how the course would help with an entry level role? Isn't the whole point of an entry level role that you generally don't require prior experience or training because it's usually offered?

Like I said, I've been doing this 8 years. I basically walked in off the street and was provided with in-house training to get all of my licenses. I would kick myself if I paid for anything out of pocket prior to getting that job and finding out they take care of it.

@sovereignone The programs help with networking and getting you access to insurers looking for underwriting positions. Experience is helpful but it does not always “count” in the same way that Canadian experience does, unfortunately.

@caowen Right, and I get that, but you said it's a great way to "break into" the P&C space and "may help with entry level roles." How would that be any more helpful than going the route that I and many others did for breaking into the P&C industry at an entry level, which is simply applying for entry level positions?

I could see the benefit in networking if OP was fine with biding their time for an underwriting opportunity to arise through their networking, but that's not a guarantee and OP seems like they'd like to get into the industry sooner than later.