Saving Outside & Inside super - Math check

mad_ugleigh

Hi everyone,

I've read some posts from passiveinvestingaustralia.com and I found this one particularly interesting https://passiveinvestingaustralia.com/how-much-to-save-inside-vs-outside-super/ , it basically explains how much you should save inside and outside super. This combined with a recent Excel model from Aussie Firebug - which calculates what to invest in which asset type - led me to investigate further the inner workings of this and try and recreate my model for this use case.

A bit of background of myself, 35M, migrated to Australia a few years ago, hoping to become a citizen soon, with a passion for F.I.R.E. and the philosophy behind it (get the biggest pleasure from your expenses, maximise joy with your time on earth).

I'm an analyst by trade, so familiar with numbers, but not necessarily finance, and being an expat, the way super works here is a new concept to me. So please bear with me and correct me if I say something inaccurate.

I tried recreating the spreadsheet shown on that PIA post, but I'm getting different numbers. Could anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong?

For starters, the screenshot shows, an initial super balance of $107,000, a return rate of 5%, and a $23,375 contribution, maximising its contribution ($27,500 pretax, increasing super by $23,375). How is it that the balance on Y01 is not ((107,000+23,375) x 1.05) ^ 1 = $136,864? Unless the contribution is done at the end of the year, in which case it would be 107,000 x 1.05 + 23,375 = $135,725. Instead, it shows $134,923. Why?

A similar thing happens with investments outside super, I get a different EOY balance.

https://preview.redd.it/yhvba96i7n7...bp&s=d17c8fafef83110583c3954f56831eaff906cc86