I am completely new to investing. I am currently picking the ETF to invest in and I cannot decide between All world (Vanguard FTSE All-World UCITS ETF Acc) and US only (Xtrackers MSCI USA UCITS ETF 1C).

How do you choose to invest in either all world or US only stocks? I know that historically US-based stocks have outperformed the all-world stocks but is there any reason to believe that this trend will remain unchanged in the future?

@justiceformyfoot I'm currently all-in USA. In fact, more than all-in with the 2x Leveraged MSCI USA (18MF).

Let me just c&p and deepl two comments I wrote explaining this on a German-language sub:

That would be me. I started with an all-world ETF savings plan and have been with a 2x MSCI USA for some time. As far as I can see, the US is simply overpowered. So many advantages that other countries in the world lack. Not the least of which is the stock market culture. Elsewhere, the economy can develop, but it doesn't have to in the stock market. Certainly not there.

🇺🇸📈🫡

Or in Warren Buffet's words: "For 240 years it's been a terrible mistake to bet against America".

America is highly developed, has rich natural resources, helpful geography, a healthily growing population, rising productivity and a stable political situation. This combo doesn't exist anywhere else in the world again in this form, everywhere else there is at least one dud. Compared to all the others, they simply play the game on easy-mode.

But in the end, everyone has to decide for themselves. We can compare in 30 years' time.

@justiceformyfoot I am a new investor but please correct me if my logic does not make sense.

Why prefer All world and not purely SP500 when history has demonstrated that when SP500 coughs, the rest of the world gets a cold. Is there really any case where if the SP500 goes down, the rest of the world doesn't follow?