Roast the Budget - 34[M] + 35[F] + 1YO

billyherman45

Wasn't sure how granular to get so apologies if this is a bit messy lol. This is all monthly (except the bonus income which paid quarterly but shown here as monthly). A lot of these are averages based on the last 12 months particularly under discretionary.

Some notes:
  • I work in tech, spouse works at a university and we live in a HCOL area (SF Bay Area)
  • We have over over 7.5 months worth of necessary expenses saved (~$71k) in liquid/semi-liquid cash accounts (HYSA, CD, regular savings account)
    • Almost 15 months worth of necessary expenses if you include non-retirement brokerage accounts (~$63k; so ~$134k total)
  • Planning on opening a 529 and other investment account (IRA?) for our 1YO
  • No other debt except the mortgage
  • We run basically everything we can through our credit cards and pay off our statement balances in full every month
  • Only one car (paid off) and playing with the idea of a second
Some obvious takeaways are:
  • Probably put more towards our retirement accounts instead of brokerage and/or change the $1k/month to go toward kid's 529 and IRA
  • Cut back on the eating out (we got pretty lazy once the kid was born and our credit cards provide some credit for Doordash/Uber Eats/Grubhub)
  • Probably cut back on subscriptions/streaming
Curious to get feedback or any other input. Thanks!

https://preview.redd.it/i750xyqn1nn...bp&s=075fea619d583fa6b49bfb402bd8984e36f00baa

@billyherman45 With that level of income, you really need to max your 401k and 403b contributions before after-tax savings, in order to reduce your taxes.

I know that you’re quite granular already but what are you buying every month from Amazon, Target, Costco, and “other” for $730? I’m sure it’s partly hobbies and essentials, but perhaps try to be more intentional and hold yourself to a tighter budget.

You’re right about the dining out; that strikes me as very high indeed.