Retirement plan vs other investments at 30 y.o

rachel2000

Hey all, been lurking here for a bit and I'd appreciate any advice.

I've recently been going through some kind of life crisis as I enter my early thirties, and I'm scrambling to get my finances in order. I never opened a retirement annuity and I'm coming to regret not doing it early.

The problem is now I'm looking at the state of the country and I'm wondering if I should tie myself up in a long-term investment in SA.

I've been converted by this subreddit and currently investing the 3k/month into an EasyEquities TFSA (60% Sygnia S&P 500 - 40% Emperor TFSA Basket) - I'm not really an expert so I hope I'm not shooting myself in the foot here.

I've got another 17k per month that I can save/invest but I'm not sure where to go from here. I'm very skeptical of tying up my money long-term in SA at the moment.

Any advice is appreciated. Cheers!

@mm17162646 Just my car at the moment (~6k pm). I've just recently paid down my Christmas spending on my credit card so I'm pretty much debt free.

I've got quite a bit of disposable that I should have been saving/investing until now. But better now than never I suppose.

@rachel2000 There’s a lot to consider and I don’t think this platform is the best to get a full scope financial plan. You should consider talking to a financial planner. In most cases those with the CFP designation are well accredited to help and not ring you of fees.

@rachel2000 When considering different products, keep in mind that you will get a massive increase in your tax rebates if you contribute towards a Retirement Annuity. I sent you a PM to explain

@rachel2000 Could you tell us a bit more about your situation:

Do you own a house? Planning on buying property?Any debt at or above 9%pa interest?What are the odds you emigrate in the next ten years? Twenty years?Anything in the future (planned or desired) that could change your financial situation - kids, marriage? How soon?