Retirement plan for 28 y/o

bytehoven

Hello everyone, I’m an expat living in Vietnam and I teach for a living. It’s a modest amount that I earn and I don’t get the benefit of a retirement plan with my workplace due to my foreigner status, so for the past few years I’ve been living paycheck to paycheck and it’s only now I’ve started to put some money aside (not into a savings account, just a normal one). My only accounts I have are Vietnamese, but I’m hoping to open an account with an international bank so it makes moving elsewhere a bit easier.

My questions are:
- which bank is the best for setting up a savings account and is expat-friendly?
- is there a way for me to put money aside for my retirement as early as now?

I’d like to be better about planning for my future but don’t really know where to start. Does anyone have any advice regarding this? I’d just like to look after my future self a bit more.

@bytehoven You should read a copy of the expat millionaire.

Has lots of country-specific advice fornoptimizing your investments and how to avoid some of the less benevolent investment companies that exist out there for expats.