Retirement fund options for UK expat in China.

partyvui

Hello,

I am a UK expat living in Shenzhen and planning to settle in China for the long term as I have a Chinese spouse but probably not retire here.

I want to invest and set up a retirement fund but I’m still quite new to this so there’s a lot I don’t understand still.

I want to invest in an S&P 500 ETF to build savings for later in life, I’m thinking VOO or IVV. I don’t have social insurance in China and I don’t want it because I probably won’t retire here.

I also have not yet made enough contributions to my UK state pension, which I am planning to top up but not any time soon. I’m considering SIPPs like from Vanguard but I’m not sure how it works.

My questions are:
- Should I invest in ETFs directly or through an SIPP? Is it possible to choose your pension investments like that? Do you pay less tax on your gains with a pension?
- I will change my CNY to GBP to make contributions to pensions/investments. How do I not lose money from poor exchange rates and fees? Can I just use my CNY instead of converting?
- Can I do banking in Hong Kong? That way I avoid conversion fees by bringing cash over.

Many thanks.

@partyvui Not sure about your first and third questions but if you have paid taxes on your CN income I have used Wise to transfer from CNY to other currencies at fair market rates plus transparent fees. Have US investment accounts so not applicable for your situation.

@partyvui There is some good content on Investments For Expats blogs about this. Might be worth a look.

If you are wanting to set up a pension, you'll need the expat equivalent of a SIPP which is International SIPPs, Novia Global (platform) offer these but there are others out there. Just one I know of.