Professional Liability / E&O - Additional Insured & Primary/Non-Contributory?

krys89

I'm an IT Consultant and I have a contract that says "In addition, Vendor’s insurance must be designated as primary and non-contributory to the insurance of *client*"

I'm good for my Commercial General Liability Insurance. For my E&O though, my broker is working through it, and I noticed there's a "Additional Insured Endorsement Primary and Non-Contributory" endorsement that was added today, where it names the client, specifically. Is this what I'm looking for?

The way I read my contract, I take it that my insurance should pay E&O claims (primary and non-contributory), not my clients. However the text of the endorsement seems broader than that:

_____________________________-

Person/Entity:

*client's name / address*

Insured shall include the person(s)/entity(ies) named in the endorsement

SCHEDULE, but only for the wrongful acts of the named entity or any

subsidiaries.

It is agreed that the insurance provided to the person(s)/entity(ies) listed

in the endorsement SCHEDULE shall be primary and non-contributory, but only

with respect to wrongful acts caused, in whole or in part, by:
  • The named entity's or subsidiaries' acts or omissions; or
  • The acts or omissions of those acting on the named entity's or
subsidiaries' behalf;

In the performance of your ongoing operations for the person(s)/entity(ies)

listed in the endorsement SCHEDULE.

Has my client became a "Additional Named Insured" versus simply an "Additional Insured"? Thanks a lot.

@krys89 Pretend your client is Annie.

Annie is now covered if she is sued because of your wrongful act as a professional. If Annie was a named insured she would be covered if she was sued for her acts as a professional. The endorsement specifically caveats that it’s for actions taken on your part, which is what they are looking for.

You’re paying your broker, why not have them explain it?