PhD student. Should I drop out?

ucdresearch

I make about 43k a year being a Phd Student along with working some side jobs. I'm in the humanities so low job prospects for sure.

I am going to finish my second year this coming May but I am considering dropping out because I have about 3-4 more years until I graduate.

If I were to drop out I would most likely become a teacher and make about 63k a year which is 20k more than what I make now.

Is it worth it to stick it out or make the extra money now? I live in a major city and rent and food prices are crazy. I live out of Airbnb's so I move every 4 months. It makes it hard to meet friends and partners and its getting old quick. Mainly my biggest concern is that I am losing out on money that I could invest or put towards buying a house or car. My car is 21 years old currently.

@ucdresearch I am a TT professor in the humanities, and I make a little under $60k. The money is just enough, living in a small city in the south. You can make that salary work in areas with low costs of living, but if you want to live in a big city, you'll need to make more.

Luckily, there are a lot of opportunities in alt-ac and other non-teaching career paths. It isn't easy, but you can work to prepare yourself for different kinds of jobs while getting your PhD. Talk to a career coach if your school has one.

@pinkr0ses Thanks so much for your reply professor.

I originally started the program with the hopes to become a professor, however, the more I advance down the path, the more I realize its really not the career I thought it was. Grad school is hard and I hear some of the professors in my department talking about how stressed they are to publish and do all the departmental things, teach and whatnot.