Ph.D. student's budget vs life in Vienna

reemal

I've noticed Ph.D. students' salaries (not very negotiable since they are usually government-funded) in Germany tend to be considerably higher than in Austria and I began to wonder how difficult it may be to live for three years of a Ph.D. programme in Vienna given the gross salaries are around 2000–2600€ (paid 14 times a year along the usual Austrian scheme).

Let's be less optimistic here and assume I have a gross salary of 2200€ so a net budget around 1600€ a month – how manageable is that? Quite obviously the most painful part of the expenses will be the rent. I tried using online cost of living calculators but I got results in an absurdly broad range (800–1800€). However, median was about 1500€ so it makes me a bit worried (but just a bit because I honestly don't trust most of these calculations).

@reemal Hi. I'm a PhD student in Vienna. Here I'll try to cover some issues here.

- The PhD student salary slightly depends on the funding source, some with progressive rate, the others are not. In average you should get ~1800 per month after tax, paid 14 times per year. That is equiv. ~2100EUR x12.

- Vienna has very strong social housing policies. The market is tightly regulated, and therefore, for renters, are very affordable. Most people I know pay their rent between 350-600EUR, that's just a quarter to a third of the salary.

- Public transport is really cheap. If you're younger than 26 you pay 75EUR for a semester. If you're older, you pay 365EUR a year. The public transit system is very well connected and you can easily ensure that you can move from A to B within 30 mins anywhere you live/work the city.

- After monthly fixed expenses + occasional travelling, I can easily safe/invest at least 25% of the monthly salary. It's really not that bad.

- My PhD friends in Germany do not seem to earn considerably more than I do. And the expenses in most big cities over there seem to actually be even higher.