Opinion on buying house in BLR

sethk

I’m 25M, i have savings around 55L(including PF) and most of it is invested somewhere in form of equity, debt or bank deposits. I don’t have dependents as such, mother is a government employee and father has a small business and younger brother is also employed. My family is suggesting me to buy a 2 bhk in BLR. I’ve 3 years of experience as of now. Take home is good(slightly upper side of 2L) for now, I’m working in a very early stage business for growth. So i can improve take home easily by switching into an MnC. Now the 2 bhk that I would like to buy will cost more than 1 cr easily. My mom also wants to put in her savings in my flat cuz it’s staying in bank deposits only. Will it be right to buy a home in this case, let’s say I’m not going out of BLR for atleast 5 years and i will get married in 3 years and we don’t own a car yet but I would like to buy one second hand for my convenience.

P.S. I take my career very seriously so i wanna take risks as I’m young now. I have left one MnC to join small startup with good growth prospects. I don’t really want to switch things for only money.

@sethk If your risks are limited to working in startups or compromising somewhat on salary, then I think you could be fine. You have good financial support. However, if you plan to start something for your own, then debt trap is a big big no. However low the EMI be, you won't be able to afford career gap or loss of salary and forget about saving a big amount to invest in your startup.

@sethk I never thought that was possible , but if you are doing it and are interested in saving tax , than why not take a home loan ( interest rate almost borders inflation ) and take tax benifit too