Not sure if to go IVA route or DMP and Im torn

ngochang

Hi

Im 34 in £37k worth of debt to 7 credit cards and 1 loan.

Interest is being added to all debt as I am u able to transfer any of the CC to 0%.

My take home is £3k a month and outgoings look abit like this

450 rent
100 g/e
145 car
200 food
700 nursery
76 phone
47 internet
250 wife
1200 debt repayments

Wife brings in £1300 bit has her own stuff to pay and i give her the £250 to help her get by.

I can longer keep going like this, i am the maine earner and this is everything that i pay out monthly.

Now i cam go the iva route and they suggest £315 a month, same as the DMP.

Iva as we know ends in 5 years, Dmp will roughly be 8/9 years.

I've been looking at both options but the iva is scaring me a little with reading all the horror stories of them failing etc.

At least with the dmp it will be fairly more simple?

I am a complete novice to this and a little embarrest, the debt has accumualted by mutliple lay offs, unpaid sick leave and paternity leave, covid etc.

Any advice would be very grateful.

I know they will both tank my creditscore bit o dont have much of one as it is anyway at the moment.

@ngochang Talk to stepchange before you do anything else.

They're a free charity and will take you through your debts, your income and outgoings, help you work out a budget and what you can and can't afford to repay. They will then recommend the best way forward for you

@ngochang You have to go away and learn all the pros and cons of each option. It's a big decision.

https://debtcamel.co.uk/debt-options/

On the face of it, an IVA seems inappropriate for you. All of the negatives of bankruptcy, but no upside (you have no assets to protect)

8/9 years for a DMP is just too long in my opinion.

So it's IVA or bankruptcy. Was there a reason you have not considered bankruptcy? Have a read of this

https://debtcamel.co.uk/hard-choices/iva-vs-bankrutcy/