[New York] Terminated before last shift

sandcastle91

1 year ago, I was a nurse in an outpatient clinic, I submitted my resignation the day prior, and before | worked my last shift I was terminated immediately. I now received the determination that I am not eligible. Should I try and appeal it?

This office was not maintaining standard levels of care or practice, or following health laws. I gave them months to try and rectify it and nothing, undocumented of course. I also felt like it was a toxic environment with my supervisor. I wasn't planning on filling Ul because I finally had enough. I thought being terminated immediately before my last shift qualified me

The HR rep paid me for last shift because she said she pretty much advocated that it was f*cked up to not let me tie up any loose ends when I was willing to.
Can I find out if it was part of a plot to cover their bases? I didn’t think about it until the DOL rep brought it up last week.

Can I see what they told the DOL?

@sandcastle91
Should I try and appeal it?

On what grounds would you appeal?

I gave them months to try and rectify it and nothing, undocumented of course.

This why your determination stated that you quit, didn't notify your supervisor, and didn't give them a chance to make changes. "No documentation, no proof, it didn't happen" according to them. How would you refute this? Any personal notes? Emails? Text messages? Photos?

I also felt like it was a toxic environment with my supervisor.

You are coming off as a disgruntled employee trying to bolster a weak case by throwing this in the pot, unless you can cite specific incidents that rise to the legal definition of a hostile work environment and that you reported them (see my comment below).

The HR rep paid me for last shift