Need help with Roth IRA

deanie

I’m about to go on deployment in 2 weeks I currently have my TSP set to 20% Roth C fund 90% and S Fund 10% I recently started my Roth IRA with Fidelity and I’m currently doing 100% QQQ is this wise? Or should I diversify my portfolio? I’m new to do this and I’m planning to go aggressive with my Roth IRA. Any advice for what I should invest into my Roth IRA since I’m already investing into the S&P 500 with the TSP what other ETFs should I look into?

@deanie Nothing wrong with an all S&P500 portfolio. QQQ is heavily tech. Any reason you're betting so hard on that sector?

Personally I'm VTI / VTSAX Vanguard Total Stock Market Index Fund plus some VXUS / VTIAX for international flavor. US returns have crushed international for the last decade. Will that continue?

Have a read of The Simple Path to Wealth. It sounds like you're just buying things you hear about without a long term plan.

@deanie This is what I do. 100% C fund in my TSP and then QQQ in my Roth.

QQQM is actually the better fund. It's the same holdings as QQQ but has a slightly lower fee.

@makubexx I just found out about QQQM like last week. I'm buying it going forward but haven't bothered to sell my QQQ to switch to QQQM yet. It's 0.2% vs 0.15% so not the end of the world either way. Both are great choices

@polcat Dont do this. If you are looking to be aggressive go for growth not dividends. Dividend funds tend to under perform the market. Besides, why would I want to dump $ into companies that don't think further investment of profits will yield more growth so they just pay out dividends? I prefer a total market fund like VTI to chasing sectors like QQQ.