Need help understanding absurd Car Insurance Quote

samuelking

Hi there,

I’m a 27 year old male living in Toronto. I just got my G2 this year (late to the game I know, but I first got my G1 almost 10 years ago and have been driving off and on since then).

I’m planning to move to Etobicoke in the coming months and was looking at purchasing a 10 year old Toyota Corolla. When speaking to my mother’s go-to car insurance company, they quoted me $700/month.

I’m trying to understand how they arrived at this absurd number. yes I’m a new driver but I am over 25, I do not drive as a commute work, would not be driving on highways very often and would be putting 5000km or less/year on the vehicle.

Is this quote consistent with any fellow new/ younger drivers who’ve also been looking to acquire their own personal vehicle? Would be open to any alternative companies as well to obtain quotes from.

@samuelking Your age is largely irrelevant. 25 is not a magic number. As you said, you got your G2 this year, that’s all most insurers are looking at, almost none of them would consider your time with a G1 because it’s not a valid license.

So: new driver - full stop - in Etobicoke… yeah, it’s gonna be high. Is everyone going to quote you $700? Hard to say, but we can’t tell you. You’ll need to shop around.

@sovereignone That is a fair point. I understand how actual experience is a more valid number than age in this aspect.

Now for clarification, I’ve been asked this a few times and I want to make sure I’m expressing my info correctly:

I first got my G1 at 17 but it lapsed after I did not complete the graduated licensing process due to procrastination. When asked “age when first received G1 license” do I say 26 instead as that’s when I restarted the graduated licensing process?