My mom isn’t allowed to open a bank account, don’t know what to do

aleckss

My mom (62F) and I went to Bank of America to try and open an account but the account was closed the next day and we got a letter saying she might even be ineligible to open an account with them or any other bank in the future. The issue is she has incoming checks each month from SSI now and not sure what to do with the checks or where to put them now; not sure if there is an alternate option to a bank account where she can deposit her checks in the mean time?

@aleckss So my aunt was being catfished secretly. She didn’t tell anyone until it turned into such a mess no banks would bank with her. These guys would date her online and have her move money around for them. Is she doing something like this? They target older people.

@frances6098 I was a data analyst in the fraud department of a bank. We had special software that looked for unusual account activity to try and spot these situations.

When I first got hired in 2007, the Wire Department didn’t even challenge people when they came in to send huge amounts of money to a sketchy destination. The new head of the department was hired at the same time as I was, and the first policy she enacted was to require clients to specify where the wire was going and what it was for.

@paulusdei I manage a wire department now as one of my duties. Fraudsters now coach people on the correct way to answer the questions we ask to determine if it’s a real wire. Makes it really tough to draw the line between sending money where people “want” it to go and also protecting them.